Sex + Relationships

LGBT Blogger of the Week: 5 LGBT Friendly Netflix Movies: Watched, Rated, and Critiqued!

 

screen-shot-2016-12-01-at-11-46-23-am

By: Megan Bloomfield

Though we are all in the midst of finals preparation, semester break is just on the horizon. It’s so close you can almost taste it. Whether you are looking for something to watch during your study breaks (because let’s face it, you can’t always have your head in a book!) or looking ahead on that much needed “down time” that you will have during winter break, these movies, as good or as bad as they may be, are some fun ways to past the time. They are even a great distraction from the annoying drunk conversations your family is bound to have during the holiday season about politics, world peace, and (of course), your sexuality. We all know it’s true, so you’re going to want a way to relax and unwind after hearing your mom drunkenly tell her girlfriends that “ohh, dontt even worryyr. Its inlyy a phase!!!” So here are some movies to make this weekend just a little bit more entertaining!

  1. Another Gay Movie

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 61%

My Rating: 40%

Summary: This movie is so stupid that it can almost pass for entertaining. Basically, it is the gay version of “American Pie.” It is about four boys who want to lose their “gay” virginity before they graduate, but are miserably failing. The movie is vulgar, disgusting, and borderline illegal. However, it is slightly romantic, and if you have a glass of wine with you, I have a fun game you can play! For every time they copy “American Pie,” you have to take a sip 😉

  1. GBF (Gay Best Friend)

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 82%

My Rating: 64%

Summary: Alright. So, this movie isn’t that great, but it’s extremely entertaining. It is about this boy who ends up getting “outed” in high school by his best friend, and instead of it ruining his life like he thought it would, he ended up becoming the most popular kid, having everyone try to claim him as their token “Gay Best Friend.” There’s much more to it, as any high school related movie has, but you’re going to have to watch to find out!

  1. Jenny’s Wedding

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 14% (Ouch)

My Rating: 65%

Summary: Okay, Rotten Tomatoes, relax. The acting may not be that great, but they had good intentions! Plus, Katherine Heigl as a lesbian?! Are you kidding?! That’s an automatic +50 points in my book. She’s such a sensitive actress and you can see how much she feels in her work. Having said that, not her best movie. The story is that Jenny (Katherine Heigl) is getting married to a woman, but her family does not know that she is marrying a woman. It’s filled with emotion and passion, just very blasé in my opinion. But, nonetheless, I am biased because of Katherine Heigl.

  1. Elena Undone

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 65%

My Rating: 70%

Summary: What can I say? I’m a sucker for a straight-girl gay-girl love story. Having said that, this one wasn’t good enough to break the top 2. It is a story of a straight married woman who finds her soulmate… but it isn’t her husband! (If you can’t tell yet, I’m trying my best not to spoil any of these movies for you. I know. I’m pretty great.)

  1. All About E

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 29%

My rating: 72%

Summary: I don’t know what it is, but something about this movie just really plays with my heart strings. It’s such an abstract story, about a girl who ruined her one true love in her life because she doesn’t know what she’s doing with her life, and in an attempt to make something of herself, she ends up in trouble and has to fix it.

  1. Blue is the Warmest Color

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 85%

My Rating: 89%

Summary: I have one thing to say about this movie: Wow. This movie is absolutely beautiful. And though critics may disagree, my favorite part is the ending (Go find out why!). It is just so different from every other movie, and the emotion in it is so powerful. It is the story of a young high school girl who falls in love with someone a little bit outside of what she’s used to, but their journey is absolutely unbelievable.

I hope you find the time to watch at least one of these, and let me know what you think of my ratings! Good luck with the next few weeks, and don’t forget your glass (bottle) of wine! It makes any movie better!

