Blog · Sex + Relationships

Quiz Time: Are You Ready to Start Dating Again?

Whether you just got out of a relationship or have been single for a while, make sure that before you start texting a new guy, you take this quick quiz to see if you’re ready to enter the dating scene again. Write down your answers and grade your quiz at the end. Be honest with yourself!

1.) Zane, who you’ve always had a thing for, just broke up with his girlfriend back home a couple weeks ago. One night, Zane texts you to come over and watch a movie. Do you go?

A) No. He’s just trying to rebound. Why else would he be texting me?
B) No. I like him and wouldn’t want anything to happen that could jeopardize our friendship.
C) Yes. I’ve liked him for a while. Let’s see what happens!
D) Yes. We can just watch a movie and become closer as friends. Maybe we could be something more once he’s been single for a while.

2.) You end up meeting Vince, who you think is cute and funny, at a party and exchange numbers. As you’re leaving, he says he’ll text you tomorrow afternoon. Well, it’s 8pm and he still hasn’t texted. What do you do?

A) Text him first. What’s the point of waiting around and wondering?
B) Nothing. Just accept the fact he’s not going to text you and try to forget about him.
C) I totally forget he said he was going to text me anyway… I was out with my friends.
D) Complain and cry about it to your friends. What did I do wrong? Why didn’t he text me?

3.) You’re on Facebook when suddenly Marcus, your recent ex-boyfriend, sends you a friend request. You go to his page and see he’s dating some girl and looks like he’s happy at school. Do you accept his friend request?

A) No. I’ll never forgive him for all he did to me. Ignoring his friend request will show him I’m still angry for what he did.
B) No. Why should he be my friend? He wasn’t supportive when he was in my life, why does he deserve to be a part of it now?
C) Yes. Maybe he’ll message me and break up with the girl and get back with me.
D) Yes. Let him see how happy I am without him. He was so awful to me and he should see how happy I am without him.

4.) Your friend Cat calls you saying she thinks she and her boyfriend are going to break up. How do you comfort her?

A) Tell her it’s not a big deal — guys are jerks anyway. Just break up already.
B) Remind her of how perfect they are together and how she would feel lonely and sad without him.
C) Invite her over for ice cream. Even though it’s not over yet, it probably will be.
D) Suggest she try to talk and fix things with her boyfriend before just calling it quits.

Now grade your quiz!

  1. A) 2 B) 1 C) 3 D) 0
  2. A) 1 B) 2 C) 0 D) 3
  3. A) 2 B) 0 C) 3 D) 1
  4. A) 2 B) 3 C) 1 D) 0

10-12 Points:

I wouldn’t recommend dating again yet. It seems as though you’re still stuck in your past. You can’t move on to the next page in your life if you keep rereading the last chapter.

6-9 Points:

Give it a little more time and make sure you’re comfortable with who you are and being single before you get out there again. You’re almost there.

0-5 Points:

What are you waiting for? You’re ready for the dating scene!

By Samantha Paige DeTore

Photo Source: innovativelyorganized.com

