Student Life

Dear Eva

Dear Eva,

I applied to many companies to intern at over the summer, and have either never heard back or have been rejected. I interned last summer, so I just assumed I would do the same this year. Especially now I feel like everyone has a summer internship, and I have nothing.

Sincerely,

Internship-less Intern

Dear Internship-less Intern,

Especially with this generation’s college students, everyone “has to have a summer internship.” There is always that lingering question of, where are you working this summer? The most important thing to remember is life works in the most of unexpected ways. Just because something doesn’t work out now, doesn’t mean there isn’t something else on the horizon. Everything truly happens for a reason, so you just have to learn to play the cards you’re dealt with. Get a local summer job, and just have fun making money. For next summer’s internship application process, reevaluate your previous strategy. Apply to a broad range of companies, and seek contacts that can help you find a job.

Just because something didn’t work out now, doesn’t mean it won’t work out later.

Sincerely,

Eva

Dear Eva,

I have been friends with this girl since freshman year, but I have had a secret crush on her for a while now. Since she is over all of the time, my roommate and her have started talking. He is really into her, and plans on making a move. Whenever she talks about it with me, I can’t help but be hurt. On one hand I want to support my friend, but at the same time he’s taking the girl I like.

Sincerely,

Caught In-between

Dear Caught In-Between,

Seeing your crush with someone else can be difficult, especially if it’s your roommate. In this situation, you only have two options: Either you take this as your wake up call to move on or you are upfront with both of them. Because you are in the “friend zone” with this girl, both she and your roommate could be blindsided by how you are feeling. Especially since they are interested in one another, you have to think about if it’s the right thing to separate them. On the flip side, there’s nothing wrong with being honest. You are entitled to your feelings, and should feel like you can be open with them.

In this situation, you really have to make the decision on your own. Everyone deserves to be happy, so think things through before acting on the situation.

Sincerely,

Eva

Have a question you want Eva to answer? Tweet @WthOnline and #DearEva, write on What the Health’s Facebook page, or comment on this post.

