Sex + Relationships

Dear Eva

Dear Eva,

My girlfriend and I have been dating since high school, and lately things have been really different. I always thought the distance at college was never going to be an issue, but lately it’s been a big problem. I don’t know if this is just a phase, or if I’m really done.

Sincerely,

Saddened Sweetheart

Dear Saddened Sweetheart,

Long distance relationships are never easy, and take constant work. Since you two aren’t seeing each other every day, it can become hard to maintain that spark. Even though these feelings will constantly linger in the back of your head, I would wait until you see her to make a decision.

You two obviously care a lot about each other, but at the same time you deserve to be happy. If things don’t seem to be getting any better, talk to her about it. Chances are, she’s probably feeling the same way.  Honesty is crucial; so don’t be afraid to open up.

Sincerely,

Eva

Dear Eva,

My friend and I participate in very similar activities here at school, and she always becomes very competitive. She always feels like she has to be better than me, which gets very difficult to deal with. I constantly remind myself that it doesn’t matter, but I can’t help but let her get to me.

Sincerely,

Annoying Competitiveness

Dear Annoying Competitiveness,

Doing the same things with a friend is always difficult, especially if your friend becomes very competitive. While it’s hard to fade out what she’s saying, you can’t let it bother you. People like this can be toxic, so for your own mental sanity just tune it out. And if it really becomes a problem, I would talk to her about it. Be honest and let her know how you feel. True friends will respect you, so you should never feel scared to stand up for yourself.

Always remember: everyone will have his or her own strengths and weaknesses. Do the best that you can, and at the end of the day, that’s all that matters.

Sincerely,

Eva

Have a question you want Eva to answer? Tweet @WthOnline, write on What the Health’s Facebook page, or comment on this post.

