Sex + Relationships

Dear Eva

Dear Eva,

I met this girl, and I’m really interested in her. I got her number and I’ve been texting her, but I can’t really figure her out. I asked her to hang out, but she said she’s “having a busy week.” I feel like she may be blowing me off, but when we text everything seems fine. I don’t understand these mixed messages.

Sincerely,

Mixed Messages

Dear Mixed Messages,

It is always exciting to have someone you are interested in, but it’s hard when you can’t figure out what’s going through his or her head. Especially since you initiated the hang out, the ball is in her court now. I would let your offer hang on the table for a bit because you don’t want to come off as over-eager. While you may really want to get to know her, you have to respect her space and schedule.

Especially since this sounds pretty recent, I would just give it some time. The two of you will continue to talk and get to know each other, which will inevitably lead to you two hanging out. I wouldn’t sweat it right now, and if it continues to be confusing I would just be honest with her.  Ask her what’s going on, and be upfront about the situation. She’ll respect your honesty, and if she doesn’t she’s not worth your time.

Sincerely,

Eva

Dear Eva,

My boyfriend recently joined a fraternity, and I feel like I’ve become pushed aside. Before he was in a frat we used to hang out all the time, but now he is so into his “brotherhood.” I want to be part of this process, but I feel like he wants to do his own thing. I can’t help but feel like he’s done with our relationship.

Sincerely,

Past Priority

Dear Past Priority,

Don’t get this idea into your head until you have talked to your boyfriend. Being in a fraternity really monopolizes your time, and he is wrapped up in the excitement of being in a brotherhood. Balancing friends and love can be difficult, so give him the time to figure it out. Obviously feeling this way is never easy, so I would talk things through with him.

Once the two of you talk, I would encourage you to set aside time every week to spend time with one another. Especially since you both are extremely busy, making the time to hang out is crucial. Whether its lunch on Mondays or date night on Fridays, you will have something to look forward to every week. While this may not be easy, you’ll begin to appreciate the precious moments you have together.

Sincerely,

Eva

Have a question you want Eva to answer? Tweet @WthOnline and #DearEva, write on What the Health’s Facebook page, or comment on this post.

