Nutrition

Get Going with Grapefruit

Source: http://sporeflections.wordpress.com

Lately I have been on a grapefruit kick – like buying a five pound bag of them at Wegmans. If I were to tell myself this as a child that I would become a grapefruit fanatic, I would have never believed it. I remember my parents eating these giant orange looking fruits  at breakfast and all I remember is the sour taste the little segment I dared to try left in my mouth. From then on, I warded off grapefruits.

The benefits of grapefruits are endless. From reducing the risk of a variety of aliments to health prevention to skin damage protection, this little pink fruit is a gold mine when it comes to health benefits.

It is a great source of vitamin C – a small serving contains 80% of your daily requirement. It prevents kidney stones due to an increase in your urinary pH level, which lowers the risk of calcium oxalate stones forming in the kidney. It helps fend off cancer by aiding in removing cancer-causing toxins from the body.

Grapefruits have been in the spotlight for their metabolic benefits. They are said to help increase the rate of your metabolism due to the high water content, in addition to the enzymes of the grapefruit aiding the workings of your internal organs.

An important issue we all must keep in mind as the sun begins to shine a bit brighter and a bit hotter in the upcoming weeks is protecting our skin. Dr. Oz’s Superfoods for Super Beauty featured the grapefruit for its lycopene content. As a powerful antioxidant, lycopene shields us from ultra violet rays so free radicals do not take apart your skin’s DNA.

Next time you see that over-sized looking orange fruit, grab one. To take away the sour taste, sprinkle sugar on top and enjoy. The work of cutting the segments free is most definitely worth it, not just for the health benefits but for the taste as well!

