Sex + Relationships

Dear Eva

Dear Eva,

My best girl friend wants to date this guy, and as her friend I want to support her. But, I can’t deny the fact I have feelings for her. It’s hard for me to hear her talk about this other guy, especially because I really like her. What do I do?

Sincerely,

Secret Admirer 

Dear Secret Admirer,

It’s never easy to see someone you like with someone else, especially if you really like him or her. While it’s always scary to express how you feel, especially since you two are friends, I would just be honest with her. By being open about your feelings, you’ll be able to either receive closure from the situation or plant an idea she’s never thought about before.

Obviously this can be very daunting, but you can’t help how you feel. Even if she doesn’t feel the same way about you, you will be able to know you at least gave it a shot. And by doing this, you will be able to move on and explore you other options.

You never know how any situation will play out, so it’s always worth giving it a shot.

Sincerely,

Eva

Dear Eva,

My friend set me up with this guy who she is friends with. I was open to the idea, but I was a little nervous because he is a senior. We went on a date, and have been hanging out a lot.  I really do like him, but he’s graduating in two months. Do I just keep things casual or do I just embrace our relationship? I just don’t want to get hurt.

Sincerely,

Hesitant Hopeful  

Dear Hesitant Hopeful,

A relationship with someone who’s older is always difficult, especially when a new chapter in their life is quickly approaching. Even though this whole situation may have been “unexpected,” you can’t help who you fall for. My advice for you is to just go with the flow. If you cut off your relationship with him just because he is graduating, you may be left with those lingering “what if” thoughts. And, you never know what could happen in two months.

If this idea of him graduating really does bother you, feel comfortable enough to talk to him about it. Being open in any relationship is key; so just let him know how you feel. Odds are he probably has the same concerns you do.

Sincerely,

Eva

