Get Well

Green Deals: Organic Shampoos

by Jada Wong, blogger

Looking good may be vain but with a slew of affordable and eco-friendly beauty products on the market, you don’t have to feel guilty for being really really ridiculously good looking. Check out this installment of “Green Deals” for reviews on natural and organic beauty products that won’t break your budget!

Winter has wreaked havoc on my fine hair so I was really excited to try two hair care products this week. Each bottle of shampoo and conditioner was under $10 and were found at CVS on Marshall Street.

 

Product: Organix Nourishing Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner

The initial coconut smell is very pleasant and reminded me of sunscreen and warm weather, but by the time I tested the conditioner, it started to smell a bit sour. I may chalk it up to a quality control issue, but the conditioner was too thick and I couldn’t wait to get the stuff out of my hair.

After washing my hair, I normally wrap it turban-style for a few minutes, shake it out, and let it air dry. But when I let my hair down and tried it whip it back and forth, it just moved like uncooked pasta. My wet hair felt stiff and I couldn’t run my fingers through my strands. After my hair air dried, it was soft but too bad it was also dry, brittle (especially the ends), and was noticeably dull.

 

Packaging and Label:

Similar to Philosophy’s packaging, Organix products have clean and simple packaging. The bottles vary in color depending on the scent but the labels list the product’s active ingredients and benefits. The labels also point out that the products are sulfate free, paraben free, and not tested on animals. The packaging is eco-friendly and made from post-consumer materials, which are all good for the environment, but note that the product isn’t certified organic. The product contains organic ingredients and the packaging eco-friendly, but the product itself isn’t organic.

Verdict: On to the next one

I was hoping for “a trip to the tropics in a bottle,” as per the packaging, but I was just left with bad hair and a bad trip. The brand only uses organic ingredients but doesn’t specify how much of their product is organic and isn’t certified which is questionable, considering its called “Organix.” The product, much like my hair, was also quite a letdown. My tresses felt dry, brittle, and dull – the opposite of what a trip to the tropics should feel like.

Product: Renpure Organics My Pretty Hair is Parched! Moisturizing Shampoo and Conditioner

The bright red and oddly shaped bottle caught my eye (and inevitably my wallet) while I was browsing the hair care aisle. Sadly, CVS only had one moisturizing shampoo and conditioner left so I quickly snagged the bottle, and after giving it a go, I’m really glad I made a hasty decision!

The pomegranate scented shampoo lathered really nicely and I could already feel the smoothness in my hair while I was rinsing the suds. The conditioner rinsed out cleanly as well, and once I had shaken my hair out of my turban, I could already feel and see a difference. I ran a hand through my wet hair and was surprised to see that it didn’t snag or tug at my hair – it literally swept through my strands.

After air drying, my hair was super soft, flexible, and had a nice shine. My hands were still able to get through without tugging. The ends of my hair were not brittle at all; a good indicator that the silk protein and olive leaf extracts had done its job.

Packaging and Label:

The bright red bottle was refreshing against the shelves of white bottles; I was surprised to see it was a natural hair care product.

The labels claim that the products are free of sulfates, parabens, color, and dyes, and are made with “100% certified organic extracts and safe, fresh, natural ingredients.” I’m always partial to these overarching claims so I visited the company website which reiterated the same claim without a seal or certification. Upon closer inspection, unlike the Organix line, Renpure’s packaging isn’t manufactured from eco-friendly or post-consumer materials but is recyclable.

Verdict: Lovin’, Touchin, Squeezin’

My hair smells great, looks touchably smooth, and feels like silk. Albeit the questionable “organic” certification, the delicious pomegranate smell and the results won me over. Once I finish these bottles, I’ll be sure to check out the rest of the products.


3 thoughts on “Green Deals: Organic Shampoos

  1. I was so happy to see this article, I exclusively use organic shampoos! I tend to avoid the flashy packaging, though. Currently I love Nature’s Gate Awapuhi Volumizing Shampoo, it’s only around $5 for a bottle that lasts months on my medium-length hair.

Comments are closed.