Eat Smart

College Cuisine: This recipe is Latkes fun…

by Alyssa Miron, food blogger


Happy Holidays everybody! While I’d love to say I’m ecstatic for the holidays to finally be here, I’m not going to lie to you. Because I celebrate Chanukah, I’ve been rather cynical about sitting around the library and dorm writing paper after paper, taking test after test when all I’d really like to do is light the menorah and party with my friends singing “Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel, I made you out of clay.” Plus, it’s no fun when your friends from home iChat you saying, “Can’t wait to be home for the holidays with you!” when you know they’re referring to Christmas. Sorry, but I’ll be at the movies with family, not Christmas caroling outside your door.

I’m obviously joking around, guys, I love celebrating all holidays, regardless of the religion. The point I’m trying to make is that it’s a lot more fun when Chanukah falls around Christmas time so everyone can celebrate together. But there’s one thing these finals can take me away from…you guessed it. Potato Latkes.

My 90-year-old grandfather used to make killer potato latkes every Chanukah for the extended family and they were always a hit. Recently, he has passed down the torch to my uncle, but the tradition still remains. In fact, we have already planned to make them as soon as all the cousins get back from college for winter break.

You can easily make these delicious treats regardless of when Chanukah ends. They make a great party snack for people of all ages, and they’re not that difficult to do. While Latkes may not be the healthiest snack, I’m a true believer that calories don’t count on the holidays. So take out the frying pan and get started! Click ahead for the recipe.

Potato Latkes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups peeled and shredded potatoes
  • 1 tablespoon grated onion
  • 3 eggs beaten
  • 2 tablespoons all-puropse flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil or peanut oil

Preparation:

  1. Put potatoes in a cloth and wring it out. This will extract as much moisture as possible.
  2. In a bowl, stir together the potatoes, onions, eggs, flour and salt.
  3. In a frying pan or skillet, set stove top on medium-high heat. Heat the oil until hot. Place large spoonfuls of the potato mixture into the hot oil. Press down on the patties with a spatula to form them. Flip when the bottom begins to brown and then let them drain on paper towels when your down. Serve hot and enjoy!
