Eat Smart

College Cuisine: Healthy Apple Crisp

By Alyssa Miron, food blogger


Over the weekend, my roommate asked me to model in pictures for her Photography class. Initially I thought, HA! Me modeling? Well that’s a joke. But of course I offered to help her out, especially since she’d dress me up in a cute outfit and we were going into the gorgeous countryside that exists beyond the city of Syracuse. Plus, she promised us copies, which I could give to my mom to put around the house in exchange for the embarrassing school photos full of braces and bad hair days of my awkward middle school, high school years.

It was a beautiful Syracuse day, one of those rare occasions where the sun finally shows up after 40 days of straight rain. We drove down roads with big smiles on our faces from the foliage of every color surrounding us. If you’ve ever played Nintendo 64’s “Mario Kart,” just think of Rainbow road. Yes, it was that awesome.

Our plan was to go to an apple farm and take photos of us picking fruit off trees and riding on tractors. We actually got distracted on our way there when we saw cows literally feet away from the highway. I parked the car on the side of the road and we took pictures posing next to them, even though my friend Victoria was terrified that the cows were going to stampede her if she got too close.

Upon arrival to the apple farm, I immediately became inspired by the scene of hundred of people partaking in family and friend outings on such a tranquil day. Since it’s the perfect time of year for apple picking, why not do a healthy apple dessert recipe? Because I have a wonderful apple crisp recipe that has been in our family for generations, I have altered it to take out the immense sugar and butter we usually add. My apple crisp recipe is in the perfect portion size that naturally bring out the sweetness of the apples, with the help of healthy and delicious seasonings. Click ahead to get the recipe!

Healthy Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

2 large, crispy apples such as Cortland, McIntosh, Empire, or Granny Smith (I used Cortland)

1 tablespoon of Splenda (They sell containers of it at supermarkets, but I took a handful of packets from the dining halls)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/3 cup whole-wheat flour

1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (oatmeal that isn’t instant packets)

3/4 cup of light brown sugar (I used Splenda brown sugar to eliminate added sugar)

1 tablespoon canola oil

2 tablespoons butter

1 tablespoon frozen apple juice concentrate, thawed

Get little cupcake baking cups. I used Reynolds Mini Foil Baking Cups.

Preparation:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Coat a baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Slice and cut up the apples (with or without skinning the apples first). Put into a bowl with the Splenda and 1/4 of the brown sugar or Splenda. Mix with hands and transfer onto the baking dish. Put into oven for around 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, combine the whole-wheat flour, oats, brown sugar, butter, oil, apple juice concentrate, and cinnamon into a bowl. Use hands to mix (feel free to lick fingers clean, its so delicious!) This while be the “crisp” to your apple crisp.
  4. Take out your softening and warm apples. Take your cupcake baking cups and put half apples in and half crisp mixture into each mold (I try to sandwich the apples by putting some crisp on the bottom and top of the baking cup. Once you finish, put them back into the oven and bake for up to 30 more minutes. You’ll notice that the topping will brown a bit and the fruit is soft and bubbling.
  5. Let it cool for 10 minutes then serve.

