Feel Great

Zumba Addiction

by Deandra Modica, blogger

(Courtesy of mylive.com)

A few months ago, I blatantly laughed at my Zumba instructor. Luckily she was too busy hopping around like the Energizer bunny to notice. The middle-aged, freakishly energized woman kept mentioning how much she missed Zumba while she was on vacation and I couldn’t understand why.  She was on a relaxing vacation with her husband and instead of enjoying her free time, she longed for her aerobic dance class. I thought she was insane.

But now I understand her addiction.  I almost lost it when I moved to Syracuse in July and couldn’t attend my Zumba classes. My friend and I would go to two to three classes a week at the Buffalo Athletic Club and suddenly I was cut off.  I missed the bubbly instructors, the old ladies tapping their feet in the back, and the rambunctious Latin music. I no longer had an excuse to listen to “I Like It.” Quitting Zumba cold turkey was rough.

Fortunately, my friends and I stumbled across a new Zumba class at the Wacheva Cultural Arts One Village Dance Centre a few weeks ago. The instructor, Katie, teaches a class every Monday from 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. and is looking to add more classes.  Each class is only $7 for students. Katie has personalized her class by adding some hip-hop music to her play-list and her Zumba class is a great workout.

Every time I finish a Zumba class I am surprised that an hour has already passed.  That is the beauty of Zumba. Concentrating on the moves, music, and laughing at yourself when you mess up helps the time fly by. Although I’m nice and sweaty by the end of every class, I often wonder if it really does much. According to Livestrong.com, a Zumba class can help you burn from 400 to 600 calories in one hour, depending on age, fitness level, and intensity of exercise” Like any workout, if you put in the time and effort, you will burn the calories. I’ll take a Zumba class over an hour on the elliptical any day.

Find out more about the effectiveness of Zumba here!

